NASA Sees Tropical Cyclone Ernie Intensify off the North Western coast of Australia

    0
    65


    NASA’s Aqua satellite passed over Ernie on April 7 at 0645 UTC (2:45 a.m. EST) and saw an eye had formed as the storm strengthened into a hurricane. Thick bands of powerful thunderstorms surrounded the eye.
    Credits: NASA

    www.facebook.com
    NASA’s Aqua satellite passed over Ernie on April 7 at 0645 UTC (2:45 a.m. EST) and the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument took a visible image of the storm.
    The image showed an eye had formed as the storm strengthened into a hurricane.

    Power Quadrant

    Thick bands of powerful thunderstorms surrounded the eye.

    At 0900 UTC (5 a.m. EST) on April 7, Ernie’s maximum sustained winds were near 95 knots (109 mph/175 kph).
    It was away from land areas, about 467 nautical miles (538 miles/865.5 km) north-northwest of Learmonth, Western Australia.
    It was centered near 15.4 degrees south latitude and 110.3 degrees east longitude.
    Ernie is moving to the south at 5 knots (5.7 mph/9.2 kph).
    The Joint Typhoon Warning Center expects Ernie to move in a south-southwesterly direction and weaken.
    Rob Gutro
    NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center

    Home Page

    The Wire



    Source link

    Facebook Comments

    Loading...

    LEAVE A REPLY

    4 × 3 =